Tintin Forums

Tintinologist.org Forums / Tintin collectibles (official merchandise only) /

Valuation Wanted: Tintin Citime watch, mid-1990s?

Mrshobson3
#1 · Posted: 6 Jan 2019 20:52
Hi!
Can anyone can give me an idea how much my watch is valued at?
It's a Citime, black leather strap, with half-black-half-white face, and Tintin and dog on.
I cannot find any the same on Google or eBay - I assume it's a limited edition?
I've had it from a child, so probably 94/5/6?
jock123
#2 · Posted: 6 Jan 2019 22:59
Mrshobson3:
Can anyone can give me an idea how much my watch is valued at?

I'm not a watch expert or collector, but I think it's going to need a bit more detail if we're going to get anywhere near identifying - let alone - valuing something like that; Citime appears to have produced dozens, if not hundreds, of Tintin watches over the years, and as most seem to feature Tintin, and often in the company of his dog Snowy, that's only a very basic starting point.

I have seen a photo online of what is described as a "Tintin chronograph", with a tachygraph marked around the bezel, a main dial - divided into white top-half, and black lower-half, with three sub-dials on the face, the word "Tintin" in grey, and a small outline of Tintin and Snowy top right - is this what your watch looks like? The one I saw is detailed as being from 2000, which could mean - a) different to your watch; b) the same as your watch, but it was in production for a few years, or c) it's the same as your watch, and the description given with the picture was wrong.

It may also be that value is dependent on other features - have you the box or tin it came in? Have you any other documentation for it - leaflet, instructions, guarantee card, wrapper, etc.? Collectors appreciate that kind of stuff, and it may increase value if present (or detract if not).

Also is showing signs of wear? Any scratches, wear on the strap, etc., will no doubt affect its worth to a collector.