Tintin Forums

Tintinologist.org Forums / Other comics /

Blake & Mortimer: Jacobs' originals versus the newer ones?

SingingGandalf
#1 · Posted: 26 Apr 2006 16:51
Hello
I am fairly new to the Blake & Mortimer adventures, but what does everyone else think?
Are the first 12 adventures by E.P. Jacobs best?
Or Nº 13 and 14 by J. Van Hamme & T. Benoît?
Or Nº 15-17 by Y. Sente & A. Juillard?
cuthbert
#2 · Posted: 28 Apr 2006 19:27
Edgar Jacobs' are best (for me personally), without a doubt, but Y. Sente and A. Juillard do a pretty good job. Personally I really dislike the style of drawing used by J. van Hamme and T. Benoit. Arguably their plots are better than Y. Sente and A. Juillard's but for me the style of drawing ruin the books.
yamilah
#3 · Posted: 28 Apr 2006 20:11
mct16
#4 · Posted: 25 Oct 2012 23:53
One thing I've noticed about the new series is that it is very historical in leaning.

The Voronov Plot for instance has references to the Soviet space programme, the launching of Sputnik and the Treaty of Rome which led to the founding of the EEC (now the EU), which Mortimer mentions to Blake while they are dinning at their club at the early stage of the adventure. We even get to see Paul McCartney and John Lennon about to get acquainted at a fete organised by Rev. Pryce Jones in Liverpool on 6th July 1957.

The Sarcophagi of the Sixth Continent includes Gandhi and Indian independence, while the soon-to-appear Le Serment des cinq Lords (Oath of the Five Lords) includes scenes with Lawrence of Arabia, mentions Oswald Mosley and Henry Williamson (whom I'd never even heard of before) and some veiled references to Churchill - two of the peers being at odds because one of them did not support him in the 1945 election.

Being keen on history myself, I welcome these references to real-life people and events. It might even encourage some to find out more about them, and try to figure the fact from the fiction.