Tintin Forums

Tintinologist.org Forums / Other comics /

Blake & Mortimer: The Nelvana series on DVD

Page  Page 2 of 2:  « Previous  1  2 

Tintinrulz
#11 · Posted: 15 May 2006 11:57
I'll have to see if they have them somewhere in Australia. Otherwise it's off to Ebay...

Are there any trailers of Blake and Mortimer online or whatever to give me any idea of what they are like. I've heard they are a bit similar to Tintin and Biggles.
Thanks!
SingingGandalf
#12 · Posted: 15 May 2006 15:40
Are there any trailers of Blake and Mortimer online or whatever to give me any idea of what they are like. I've heard they are a bit similar to Tintin and Biggles

Basically, though I am new to the stories myself (thanks to tybaltstone to introducing them to me), they are slightly more detailed and realistic than Tintin in the drawing style but the stories lack the characters, story developement and realism of Tintin. They are set around the 1950s, with 2 British gentlemen, officer Blake and professor Mortimer who go on adventures. it's more sci-fi than Tintin, with things like time travel, ghosts, 2000 year old Indian emperors, Atlantis etc.
Also, does anyone know if 'the U-ray' is on this box set as it's meant to be set in an alternate universe so is not one of the main set of 17 books.
jock123
#13 · Posted: 15 May 2006 17:38
SingingGandalf
oes anyone know if 'the U-ray' is on this box set as it's meant to be set in an alternate universe so is not one of the main set of 17 books.

The U-Ray story is a collection of Jacob's knock-off Flash Gordon stories, rather than a Blake & Mortimer book, so no, it isn't in this collection. I don't think it has been animated.