Tintin Forums

Tintinologist.org Forums / The Members Lounge /

Tintin thesis - please help!

franceslikestintin
#1 · Posted: 25 Jul 2007 17:45
Hi,
I'm in my final year of an animation degree and we have to write a thesis. I suggested for a laugh that I write mine about Tintin, but to my surprise the lecturer went for it. Thinking about it later though I realise it actually was a really rich subject for investigation. I decided to write about a couple of the Tintin books in relation to race and representation eg. 'Tintin in the Congo', and 'The Blue Lotus',and also maybe about how the books form a history of the twentieth century.
I was hoping someone might be able to suggest some academic books about tintin and herge I could look at. I have only been able to find french versions on the internet which is really frustrating cos they look interesting.
PLEASE HELP!
Thank you
Harrock n roll
#2 · Posted: 25 Jul 2007 18:58
The first book that springs to mind is Tintin: The Complete Companion by Michael Farr. It's still in print and easy to find. You might be hard pushed to track down English language books that are truly academic though. If your university or school has access to the JSTOR online archive you might like to browse that. There are many academic papers available for study in their database.

Best of luck!
franceslikestintin
#3 · Posted: 26 Jul 2007 11:03
Thanks for your quick reply.
My college does have access to a few online databases, but unfortunately I'm on my summer holidays right now so i can't get at them.
I have a copy of the Michael Farr book and it is good, but i still need something more in depth.
Have you heard of a book called 'Death to all Tyrants!: Tintin, Children and Politics' by Pierre Skilling? Is that good?
I'm also considering getting 'Tintin and the Secret of literature' by Tom McCarthy and 'Tintin chez le psychonalyste' by Serge Tisseron.
Do you know of any sites that sell books about Tintin?
SmartTintin
#4 · Posted: 27 Jul 2007 09:22