Tintin Forums

Tintinologist.org Forums / Hergé and Studio Hergé /

Hergé: Looking for architecture influences?

christi
#1 · Posted: 14 Apr 2009 16:02
I'm an architecture student and I'm currently working on a project that has to do with the way that Hergé created the built environment of the places Tintin visited.

Hergé did not just create scenes for his characters. The places he drew played an important role, as they depicted the local political and social circumstances. Architecture and society are closely connected. Could anybody enlighten me about Hergé's basic designing principles as far as architecture and urban environment are concerned?
What were his inspirations?
I would appreciate your suggestions about useful bibliography.
mct16
#2 · Posted: 14 Apr 2009 17:36
Since his work was published in newspapers and magazines, Hergé had access to a lot of material from around the world, and this included photos of streets and buildings which he used in his drawings.

In The Blue Lotus, for instance, when Tintin is on his way by rickshaw to meet Mitshuirato for the first time, the street scene with him observing the activity around him was based on a photo Hergé had in his archives.
For The Calculus Affair, houses and streets in Switzerland were based on photos taken and research material gathered on a location recce in that country.

The Seven Crystal Balls - The house of Professor Taragon, where Tintin and his friends have the nightmares involving Rascar Capac, was based on a suburban Brussels house Hergé sketched at the suggestion of E.P. Jacobs - unaware at first that it was being used by the Gestapo!

Try Michael Farr's Tintin: The Complete Companion which should be available on Amazon.
It is regarded as the best authority on Tintin to date and includes many of the original photos which Herge used to draw his streets and building.
christi
#3 · Posted: 14 Apr 2009 22:27