Tintin Forums

Tintinologist.org Forums / Curious about Tintin? (Non-album specific) /

Does Tintin have any family?

Page  Page 1 of 2:  1  2  Next » 

Whistler
#1 · Posted: 6 Aug 2009 04:55
So, I was reading Explorers on the Moon the other night, and I suddenly came up with the strangest thought. Tintin's family has never been introduced or even mentioned in the books. Now, this may just be because I have not read all the books (I know, blasphemy, right?) but in every story I've read, he doesn't say a thing about them!

It could just be that Mr. Herge decided not to introduce them. As a writer I have to admit, coming up with a backstory is quite a difficult job: you make it to dramatic, you mess up the character, you make them to chipper, and you still mess up the character.

But I still wonder, what kind of family did he come from? Did he come from a family that moved around a lot (this would explain his many travels) or maybe a military family (would explain the punch that knock out full grown men). Maybe he was a loner as a child, and that's why he surrounds himself with friends: perhaps to make up for lost time?

Families can shape the way you are as you grow older. I'm just wonder what type of family did Tintin come up to make him into the adventurous reporter we all know and love :)
number1fan
#2 · Posted: 6 Aug 2009 10:57
I cant remember where i read this but here it goes the father of Tintin wanted him to be a boxer Tintin refused and hes father dis homed him.I doubt that's true maybe Tintin just appeared maybe hes Father was Captain Haddock though it seems like the way Haddock can be sometimes Tintin is a father figure to him.
mct16
#3 · Posted: 11 Aug 2009 18:17
In the books there is no mention of Tintin having a family, friends or a past prior to his getting on the train in the opening scene of "Land of the Soviets", his very first adventure.