Tintin Forums

Tintinologist.org Forums / Official Tintin books /

Tintin in America: Miracle working boomerang?

Page  Page 1 of 2:  1  2  Next » 

tuhatkauno
#1 · Posted: 4 Jan 2012 17:53
I'm no boomerang expert but that boomerang guy on pg. 3 in America is amazing. He knocks out the taxi driver and gets his boomerang back. What a spin! Hats off to him! I have always had a suspicion that the "boomerang thing" is cheating. Or I am all wrong as usual.
Tintinrulz
#2 · Posted: 5 Jan 2012 01:39
No, boomerangs are real and they're not cheating. There are different sorts. Some that return and others that can kill kangaroos etc. but are embedded in the roo or fall to the ground. I imagine the one in Tintin in America is a more powerful boomerang that can strike a glancing blow and then return.
MisterRastapopoulos
#3 · Posted: 6 Jan 2012 00:25
Yes, I noticed that too! Looks like he's a real ace with the boomerang. But to be able to hit the taxi driver and knock him over is difficult with a normal boomerang nowadays.
tuhatkauno
#4 · Posted: 6 Jan 2012 08:43
How can the boomerang maintain its speed? To me it seems that the boomerang hits the taxi driver and doesn't merely brush him. Though I know nothing about boomerangs I know someting about physics. That boomerang is not from this world.
Balthazar
#5 · Posted: 6 Jan 2012 12:19
tuhatkauno:
How can the boomerang maintain its speed? To me it seems that the boomerang hits the taxi driver and doesn't merely brush him. Though I know nothing about boomerangs I know someting about physics. That boomerang is not from this world.

Yeah, I agree that the way it's shown hitting the driver full on makes it hard to believe it would then have enough energy to turn round and continue its flight back to its owner!