Tintin Forums

Tintinologist.org Forums / Official Tintin books /

Tintin in America: Miracle working boomerang?

Page  Page 2 of 2:  « Previous  1  2 

AngelofLight
#11 · Posted: 17 Jan 2012 02:18
jock123:
This appears to be largely anecdotal, or only found in fiction. I’ve not been able to find a single documented case of a person being killed; that’s not to say it hasn’t happened, or couldn’t happen, it just suggests that it is such a rare occurrence that it can be considered not that much of a threat.

True. I'm not really a boomerang expert, but one of my first memories after moving to Australia is watching my father and his friends throw boomerangs in a field, and telling me to be careful because they're dangerous etc. and they chase you when they come back. I've been a little afraid of them ever since!
glendale
#12 · Posted: 17 Jan 2012 02:59
Tintinrulz:
People have been killed by boomerangs but it was rare

Boomerang accidents killed 9 and injured 87 in Australia last year
Harrock n roll
#13 · Posted: 17 Jan 2012 19:40
glendale:

That's quite a frightening statistic! It means if you have a boomerang accident you have roughly a one in ten chance of being killed. What was the source for this?
tuhatkauno
#14 · Posted: 17 Jan 2012 20:30
glendale:

I admit, boomerangs are lethal weapons no matter whether you know how to handle them or not. I wonder if the killed ones are those who threw the boomerangs and got hit by own boomerang or unlucky pedestrians.
AngelofLight
#15 · Posted: 17 Jan 2012 21:38
tuhatkauno:
I wonder if the killed ones are those who threw the boomerangs and got hit by own boomerang or unlucky pedestrians.

I'd say it would probably be a mixture. the killed ones would probably be hit, but quite a few of the injured would be throwers.
Seven
#16 · Posted: 20 Jan 2012 12:11