Tintin Forums

Tintinologist.org Forums / Tintin collectibles (official merchandise only) /

Valuation Wanted: Tintin Citime Watch from 1995

hueofblue
#1 · Posted: 14 Sep 2016 23:40
Found this watch in my basement the other day.
Tintin putting on his coat with Snowy at his feet. Purchase when I was in France.
Brown leather strap
Mint condition.
Limited series 1500
30mm

Found this one listed on eBay but not sure if it's an appropriate price?
jock123
#2 · Posted: 15 Sep 2016 00:30
I'm by no means an expert, but looking at how other Tintin watches have sold on eBay recently, this seems a very high price, to be honest (the seller is asking for US $185.00, about £140 at time of writing). Not identical, but similar, Citime watches of about the same age seem to have sold recently for somewhere in the region of £50, so that would seem to be a better off-the-cuff estimate, or at least a starting point.

The thing to do is to watch eBay for a while and monitor supply and demand - what do other watches go for?

If yours is a hotly sought after item, and there are people prepared to spend big money to get them, the one you have linked to (there is also another which popped up as a suggestion when I looked at this one) should let you know what the current "going price" is.
illustration inc
#3 · Posted: 18 Sep 2016 19:26
I recently bought 2 citime Tintin watches on ebay for £45ish for the pair. The mint condition ones go for around £50 like jock123 says though. You always put a BIN of £65 or so and see if anyone bites. Good luck!

Please be sure to familiarize yourself with the Forum Posting Guidelines.