Tintin Forums

Tintinologist.org Forums / Curious about Tintin? (Non-album specific) /

English publishers who aren't Methuen

Page  Page 3 of 3:  « Previous  1  2  3 

Harrock n roll
#21 · Posted: 23 Jun 2004 23:41
They certainly were translated from the French editions although some people and place names were later changed at editing stage. I've been researching for an in-depth article for a few months now and I hope to bring it to you all soon. Casterman have allowed me access to their archives and I've been in touch with some of the people concerned so it's shaping up to be the most definitive article to date. I don't want to give anything away yet but all will be revealed in the near future ... :)
snafu
#22 · Posted: 27 Feb 2005 21:32
I have many versions of Tintin from Joy Street and Little, Brown. Some books that I have show the names of both publishers. Does anybody know if the two publishers merged?
OJG
#23 · Posted: 27 Feb 2005 21:49
My main books (America to Picaros) were all bought in the 90s. I have 2 hardbacks (Calculus Affair and 714), which are published by Methuen. The rest are all paperbacks published by Mammoth. Egmont has taken over publishing now, but this was after I completed my collection. Wherever I see Tintin books in shops now, I only see paperbacks by Egmont, but I see hardbacks by both Egmont and Methuen still.

Interestingly, my copy of The Black Island is a Mammoth copy, but on the back where it shows all of the other main books, they have Little Brown written on them.
snafu
#24 · Posted: 27 Feb 2005 22:04
Interesting OJG. Is Little, Brown affiliated with several companies, or is actually two companies in one?
OJG
#25 · Posted: 27 Feb 2005 22:25