Tintin Forums

Tintinologist.org Forums / Works influenced/inspired by Hergé /

Identification Needed: Tintin in chair with Snowy

robert_w
#1 · Posted: 1 Nov 2019 16:23
I've got a hold of a Tintin, in a chair with Snowy, but I have no idea if it's an official or fake.
Any identification seems to be gone on bottom.

Some pictures of it can be found here:
Image 1
Image 2
Image 3
jock123
#2 · Posted: 3 Nov 2019 01:08
To be honest I am no expert in such things, but the signs aren't great for this being genuine merchandise.

It is similar to, but not identical to, a genuine resin statuette produced (I think) by the firm Pixi,of which there may have been more than one edition, as sometimes I've seen it pictured with a model standard lamp with it (which may actually work as a light, I'm not certain).

However, the quality of the paint job, and the sculpting is of a higher quality in the Pixi version, and done to a much smoother finish than the one in your photograph.

I have also seen that that the underside of the Pixi version was painted, and featured a square hole, unlike the round hole here.

As I say, I'm no expert, so you might want to have it checked out by an auction house or dealer in these statuettes, as a genuine one could fetch somewhere around the € 2,000 mark (this may be a figure one would only get with box, paperwork etc., I don't know, but it came up in a sale I managed to track down), but I am afraid that this looks like it may be a copy or someone's home-made version of the same pose.
robert_w
#3 · Posted: 3 Nov 2019 08:25
Thanks for the elaborate reply jock! I was indeed "afraid" it was a copy or homemade version.
I got it for a bargain and we still love it as a piece of decoration and I would never intend to sell it as an original. :)

Next Tintin purchases will be from official resellers or 2nd hand with certificate to support the creators.

Cant wait to get the Lotus Bleu vase, or the 30cm rocket! :)