Tintin Forums

Tintinologist.org Forums / Official Tintin books /

Tintin in Tibet: Shaky handwriting?

Page  Page 1 of 2:  1  2  Next » 

szplug
#1 · Posted: 10 Apr 2005 11:05
I am no printing expert , hence this query

I have The Tintin Tibet by Egmont .I have noticed that someone has filled in /rewritten/edited (??) the following bubbles in a shaky handwriting to resemble the prevalent font :-

1) Page 5 , top row ,3rd frame , Haddock tells Cuthbert "You ... you and your champagne !!"

2) Page 33 , bottom row , 1st frame , Tintin says " .........that was after ......."

That the writing looks different , is it because some proof reader saw that the words were missing/wrong , so he used a 'correction fluid' and copied the texts in his handwriting or was some editing done at some point in the Methuen/Egmont editions.

Could someone please go through their books and please let me know what they think.
edcharlesadams
Trivia Challenge Score Keeper
#2 · Posted: 10 Apr 2005 11:42
Yes these are most obvious in the more modern editions - which is the one I have with me at the moment. Annoyingly I can't check any of my earlier ones though - does anyone have a 1960 first edition to hand that they can look in?

Ed
OJG
#3 · Posted: 10 Apr 2005 12:27
I'd never noticed that before. I have the 1995 Mammoth paperback edition, but this does occur in mine too. No idea why though!
Ranko
#4 · Posted: 10 Apr 2005 15:29
I haven't got a 1960 edition, but my '72 Methuen copy looks original.
Richard
UK Correspondent
#5 · Posted: 10 Apr 2005 23:07
I imagine that it was probably a correction done later, and I'm guessing because there was some damage to the original printing plate or acetate overlay with the text. Instead of calling in Mr Hyslop to reletter the entire page, it would have been far more economically sound to simply fix it themselves, correcting the bits where the damage was - hence the wobbly samples of text.
Harrock n roll
#6 · Posted: 11 Apr 2005 10:37