Tintin Forums

Tintinologist.org Forums / Tintin collectibles (official merchandise only) /

General Discussion: The Making of Tintin Books (Vols 1-4)

Page  Page 1 of 2:  1  2  Next » 

KorovaMilkBar
#1 · Posted: 8 Mar 2005 22:04
Hi there, newbie here.
At 29 I am going back to my Tintin roots. Like most of you, I am looking to consolidate my collection. Aside from the standard titles, I am extremely interested in getting the four Making of Tintin books. However, they are hard to find. Any idea whether they will ever be re-issued?

I have been offered for sale Making of Unicorn and Making of Incas in pretty mint condition for about $40US each (plus postage to Australia). Should I snap them up at these prices?
Ans although Making of Cigars and Moon Mission are newer, they seem harder to get - is that true?

The irony is that these "rare" books are all just sitting in my local public library - i offered to buy them, but "no cigar', as it were. ;-)

Any general intelligence on these books would be greatly appreciated.

Sorry if this is already covered in another thread...

Cheers!
Richard
UK Correspondent
#2 · Posted: 8 Mar 2005 22:41
Welcome to the forum !

Regarding a reprint for the Making of Tintin's, I can't imagine there being one anytime soon, although Egmont may surprise us at some point.

$40 each, in my view, is a good price - works out at about £20 GBP, which is good considering the RRPs were around £12-14 originally. They are incredibly hard to get hold of now, and have some fascinating information in.

Cigars/Lotus seems to be the hardest one to find, although I did happen to see Mission to the Moon in a local bookshop a few months ago !

I think there were at least two printings, the original editions in the 1980s, and then later ones with glossy pages in the mid-1990s - my copy of Inca is glossy, and the Moon one in the bookshop was as well.