Tintin Forums

Tintinologist.org Forums / Curious about Tintin? (Non-album specific) /

Hergé: When does copyright in his work expire?

Page  Page 1 of 4:  1  2  3  4  Next » 

kirthiboy
#1 · Posted: 21 Feb 2004 16:33
I had heard someone say that Moulinsart's copyright over Tintin would expire in next 4 years. Is it true?
Tintinrulz
#2 · Posted: 22 Feb 2004 00:17
That would be great, but it's more likely to be something like 25 years. I think copyright holds for 100 years and Tintin is 75 years old. I hope your right though!
tybaltstone
#3 · Posted: 24 Feb 2004 10:55
Tintinrulz:
I think copyright holds for 100 years and Tintin is 75 years old. I hope you're right though!

I'm not an expert in copyright, but I think if an author has an estate, as Hergé does, then they can renew the copyright and extend it beyond its "natural life".

Hergé did say he did not want Tintin, as a comic strip, to continue after his death. As he said (paraphrase) - someone may do it better, someone may do it worse, but the fact remains that they would do it differently, and it so it could not be Tintin.

I know this mainly relates to Tintin in an official way, and I don't really see anything too wrong with fan adaptations, except when they try to pass off as official stories. Also, some things have been done in Tintin's name which are not true to the character.

I have a lot of respect for Hergé's wishes, and completely understand how he felt about the character he created being taken on by strangers.
Blake & Mortimer have been continued after Jacobs' death, and - from the little I've seen (I admit) - they do not have that authenticity to them.
There's also the slight feeling that, with Jacobs, it's merely trying to make more money out of Blake & Mortimer.

But I know there is a big difference between this and a fan story.

- Garen
kirthiboy
#4 · Posted: 24 Feb 2004 11:13
tybaltstone:
if an author has an estate, as Hergé does, then they can renew the copyright