Tintin Forums

Tintinologist.org Forums / Tintin books /

Crab with the Golden Claws: What does 'Karaboudjan' mean?

Jyrki21
#1 · Posted: 9 Dec 2004 06:49 · Edited by: Jyrki21
In another thread, thmthm wrote:

Armenia's and Turkey's histories are intertwined (in the most unforunate way) and share many words - karaboudjan in Turkish is:
Kara-black
Bou - this
djan- Spirit
THIS BLACK SPIRIT - maybe a foreshadowing of whats to come after Tintin gets kidnapped
but thanks for starting this new topic from the previous one
When i saw that cover from Harrock I was dying of laughter - that was good!

Indeed, I studied a little Turkish in undergrad, and it was only then that I appreciated that 'Karaboudjan' sounded like a Turkish name. Indeed, thmthm's translation is bang on -- it would be spelled "Karabucan" in Turkish -- and I wonder if Hergé got his Levant languages confused. Because this is quite clearly a Turkish name...
thmthm
#2 · Posted: 9 Dec 2004 07:24
Well - many turkish/Arabic (and even French) words are used interchangably within the western Armenian culture- especially in my parents and grandparents generations - so Herge might have been told that it was Armenian. To this day, I learn that many of the words I use are not Armenian at all just because Ive heard it used over and over again in conversation...
You couldve imagined how great I felt as a kid when I read that though!
Harrock n roll
#3 · Posted: 9 Dec 2004 11:49 · Edited by: Harrock n roll
This is from the book Tintin at Sea:

Hergé made up the name of this ship. As was his method, he brought together two names from one geographical region - KARA BOUgaz, a gulf on the east of the Caspian Sea, and AzerbaiDJAN - to produce, as Tintin notes, an Armenian sounding name.

On 20 September 1972 he wrote to his friend the Author Gabriel Matzneff "One day when we meet again, you are sure to tell me that the name actually exists, though I had invented it."

This I found on the internet: