Tintin Forums

Tintinologist.org Forums / Curious about Tintin? (Non-album specific) /

Most preposterous piece of Tintin "scholarship" ever?

Page  Page 1 of 4:  1  2  3  4  Next » 

jock123
#1 · Posted: 30 Jan 2005 00:17
Ladies and gentlemen, I offer for your consideration this:

In Extremis: Hergé's Graphic Exteriority of Character

Is it just me, or is it complete and utter pants??

I am not wishing to blow my own trumpet unduly here, but I have an honours MA degree in English Language and Literature, with courses in Film and Television Studies and Philosophy, and I have studied semiotics, art history and am now in my forties – I think I have my head screwed on the right way round, and am reasonably well educated and well read; I have no idea what it’s about, or what point she is trying to make. It may get spelt out completely at some point, but I lost the will to live before finding it, and gave up

She is definitely of the opinion that to use big words and fancy terms (including using the word “exteriority” as if she had just made it up) makes her more serious or academic, when it doesn’t, it just renders her idea, whatever it may be, incomprehensible.

I started to flag early, but was cheered somewhat when reaching a paragraph begining: “It becomes very clear...”, only to suffer the bitter realisation that it was, in fact, to become more opaque:

It becomes very clear why it is important to propose the term "logographic" to designate the verbal function of Hergé's art, instead of following normal usage as does BD commentary: to refer to "the verbal", to "writing", to "speech" or to "dialogue" is to fail to make plain the fact that the materiality of the word in the Tintin corpus is a drawn materiality with graphic properties.

How can it not be plain that a comic has “graphic qualities”??