Tintin Forums

Tintinologist.org Forums / Curious about Tintin? (Non-album specific) /

Tintin: Favoured mode of transport... the plane?

varun0883
#1 · Posted: 18 May 2005 07:48
Hi friends,
I would like to share with you an interesting fact. Tintin always travelled by flight.
Wherever he went, he used to travel by flight - like to Slydavia in King Ottokar's Sceptre, and to New Delhi in Tintin in Tibet.

Though ironically Captain was a sailor by profession, they used to travel less on ship.
Maybe Hergé used the concept of an aeroplane due to the then advancement in air travel!
tybaltstone
#2 · Posted: 18 May 2005 10:16
Although I haven't counted planes vs ships, I thought Tintin was much more of a boat-traveller, but I may be wrong (as I often am!). Of course, the earlier adventures use boats more often, and the book 'Tintin at Sea' really shows how much ships and boats were part of the adventures. I wonder if such a book could be made out of his air-travel?
jock123
#3 · Posted: 18 May 2005 10:23
I'm with tybaltstone on this - think of the voyage of The Karaboudjan, the Sirius, the liner in Cigars - not to mention trips in life-boats, rafts, luxury yachts, shark-submarines and Egyptian coffins! Add in the odd sea-plane, and our hero was often at sea!

Mind you, Hergé did have a mind to set an adventure entirely inside an airport terminal, as it had all human life passing through, he reckoned, so you may be onto something after all...
jockosjungle
#4 · Posted: 18 May 2005 20:53
In the later adventures when flying was less of a novelty (after he'd been to the Moon) I think Tintin started to fly more but he was a hardened boater in the early adventures.

Except in Soviets where he took the train...

Rik

Please be sure to familiarize yourself with the Forum Posting Guidelines.