Tintin Forums

Tintinologist.org Forums / Curious about Tintin? (Non-album specific) /

Tintin in Tibet: Tibetan, Hindi and Devnagiri script

Page  Page 1 of 2:  1  2  Next » 

Orientalist
#1 · Posted: 2 Mar 2006 19:10
Hello

I'm doing a thesis on the presence of Orientalism in Tintin.
Apart from focusing on how some ethnic groups are portrayed in the comics, I'm interested in the graphics that Hergé used.
In Tintin in Tibet, the title page is bordered with script. I can identify some of it as Devnagiri, but the rest is alien to me.
Does anyone have any information on this?

Thanks

Divya
midnightblueowl
#2 · Posted: 3 Mar 2006 21:52
I don't think it's sanskrit, but it's something similar. It must be a Tibetan written language, but then, wouldn't that be sanskrit. I might be wrong here.
marsbar
#3 · Posted: 4 Mar 2006 08:33
Orientalist wrote: In Tintin in Tibet, the title page is bordered with script. I can identify some of it as Devnagiri, but the rest is alien to me.

I suspect the rest is mock Tibetan - put in there for decorative purposes.

midnightblueowl wrote: I don't think it's sanskrit, but it's something similar. It must be a Tibetan written language, but then, wouldn't that be sanskrit.

The Tibetan script is derived from the Brahmi script, hence the similiarities with the Indian alphabets.
Orientalist
#4 · Posted: 4 Mar 2006 19:25
Hello

Thanks for the responses.

Marsbar, I think you may be right. He uses Devnagiri script (Hindi) again inside the book (when they're in Nepal, which is odd), when the guy carrying the load is giving it right back to the Captain.
sprabs
#5 · Posted: 5 Mar 2006 08:36
He uses Devnagiri script (Hindi) again inside the book (when they're in Nepal, which is odd), when the guy carrying the load is giving it right back to the Captain.