Tintin Forums

Tintinologist.org Forums / Works influenced/inspired by Hergé /

Yves Rodier books

midnightblueowl
#1 · Posted: 24 Oct 2005 20:34
Does anybody have any information on Yves Rodier 'Tintin' books like a list of tintin books he's written. I know of 'Alph-art', 'the blue oranges', 'the sorcerors lake' and 'reporter for the 20th century newspaper'. Are all of these printed as books.
Richard
UK Correspondent
#2 · Posted: 26 Oct 2005 18:19
We have to be careful about discussing these, but so long as no one asks where to find them, it should be okay. To the best of my knowledge Rodier didn't draw the Blue Oranges ; it doesn't look up to his usual standard, plus I don't think he has the time to draw a new Tintin book - he's a comic strip artist by profession now. Two of his series are Pignouf & Hamlet and Simon Nian.

But to get back to what you asked for, Rodier has drawn :

• Tintin and Alph-Art
• Tintin, Freelance Reporter (for Le 20ème siècle)
• The Sorceror's Beast (or the Sorceror's Lake)
• Tintin and the Thermozero (one page)
• A Day at the Airport (one page)
• Tintin in Tibet (an additional page, 27bis)
• The Portrait Gallery (a portfolio of images)
• Some Christmas cards and general illustrations

Some were printed privately in limited numbers - the only one that I know received any sort of general circulation was Alph-Art.
olzen
#3 · Posted: 8 Dec 2005 15:45
Hmm... what exactly is the additional page in Tintin In Tibet? I've seen one that involves the captain getting into a rather fun accidents with some fireworks (or something like that), but I thought that was drawn by Hergé. Anyway, would it be against the rules to post a link to a finished (coloured and translated) version of Rodier's Alph-Art - it's unprintable anyway. All of the pages have been watermarked. But I won't post the link to the site if it's against the rules, obviously.
Richard
UK Correspondent
#4 · Posted: 8 Dec 2005 17:33
olzen