Tintin Forums

Tintinologist.org Forums / Curious about Tintin? (Non-album specific) /

Syldavian and learning Marols or Marollian

Page  Page 1 of 5:  1  2  3  4  5  Next » 

Mustafa Umut Sarac
#1 · Posted: 15 Apr 2009 03:12
Hello , I researched Syldavian and found Hergé was influenced by his grandmother's use of Marols, plus some Hungarian and some Czech.
I want to learn Marols, but I found out there are 3 or more varieties in Brussels.
I'd like to learn the correct one, and I need a guide book for complete beginner.
Best ,
Mustafa Umut Sarac
Istanbul
Mikael Uhlin
#2 · Posted: 15 Apr 2009 10:43
Mustafa, have you seen http://www.zompist.com/syldavian.html ?
jock123
#3 · Posted: 29 Apr 2009 09:58
I think you are unlikely to come across a language course in Marollian, although there might be an academic linguistics paper on it, so try a university library perhaps.

However, I have just come across a reference to a book called Kuifje: Een Brussels Ketje, by Daniel Justens and Alain Preaux, published by Casterman [ISBN: 978-9-03032-738-7]; it is (apparently - I have no personal knowledge of the book) a guide to all the Brussels references and in-jokes in the albums, and that includes things like the Arumbaya language, so the Syldavian may be explained in terms of Marollian. It might be what you are after, although it is in Flemish...
Harrock n roll
#4 · Posted: 29 Apr 2009 10:37
There's also a French/Marollian dictionary published in 1988 ("Dictionnaire Marollien-Francais Francais-Marollien" - Oscar Starck - ISBN-10: 2872630074 / ISBN-13: 978-2872630073). I just did searches at abe books and antiqbook where there were a couple for sale.

Another good way to learn would be to buy a Tintin book in Marollian. I know at least one has been translated fairly recently, but I can't remember which. Actually, I've found reading Tintin in another language is a very useful learning tool.
Why do Birds
#5 · Posted: 29 Apr 2009 17:45